About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products

Integrative Medicine Service database of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Provides clinical summaries of herbs for oncologists and other healthcare professionals, and evaluations of alternative cancer therapies.

Academic OneFile

Off-campus users

Full-text database that covers all academic subjects, including medicine. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty and staff.

AcuTrials

Created by OCOM’s Research Department, AcuTrials is a comprehensive collection of citations to randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews that address the use of acupuncture for a variety of health conditions. Sign up for a free account to receive instant access.

AGRICOLA

The National Agricultural Library’s two databases that index the books and articles of the agricultural research literature, including botanical/herbal research. HerbalGram, for example, is indexed in AGRICOLA’s Journal Article Citation Index (it’s not indexed in Medline). Available via EbscoHost as well as the National Agricultural Library.

Alt-Health Watch

Off-campus users

A full text database covering a wide range of periodicals in the field of alternative health, including peer-reviewed journals, professional publications, magazines, newsletters, newspapers, and research reports. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty and staff.

AMED: Allied and Alternative Medicine Database

Off-campus users

British Library’s index to the literature of complementary and alternative medicine, including acupuncture, Chinese herbal medicine, chiropractic, herbalism, homeopathy, hypnosis, occupational therapy, osteopathy, physiotherapy, podiatry and rehabilitation. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty and staff.

British Homeopathic Library

Information service and database of 25,000+ journal and book citations; affiliated with Glasgow Homeopathic Hospital.

CHANT: Chinese Ancient Texts

Off-campus users

A searchable series of full text databases that include a growing number of ancient Chinese texts. Published by the Institute of Chinese Studies of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Texts are in Chinese. CHANT is best used with Microsoft Internet Explorer. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

China/Asia On Demand

Off-campus users

Full-text access to 150+ medical journals from Asia (some in English, some in Chinese). Type in your search term, click on the citation link for an article, then click on the full text icon. You will be prompted for an email password in order to access the full text. That password is available in the library. This database is available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

Chinese Medicine Specimen Database

Through the joint collaboration by the School of Chinese Medicine and University Library, Chinese Medicine Specimen Database is established to help promoting people’s awareness of the variety, authenticity, and effective use of Chinese Medicines. The database currently has a collection of all exhibits of Chinese Materia Medica specimen that are displayed in the Chinese Medicine Centre.

Classical Chinese Medicine Associates Forum

Classical Chinese Medicine reflects the voices of an international movement seeking to honor and restore the classical origins of Chinese medicine. This site features articles, lectures, and practical demonstrations by Heiner Fruehauf, Ph.D., L.Ac., and a group of like-minded scholars in China and the West who are committed to transmit the time honored science of Eastern medicine as a highly sophisticated and deeply spiritual art form. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff; user ID and password required.

Dietary Supplements Labels Database

A free database produced by the National Library of Medicine. Offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients in different brands. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed by manufacturers.

DIMDI

Produced by the German Institute of Medical Documentation and Information. Search across 70 databases covering the entire field of medicine (including alternative medicine) and its adjacent fields, including drugs, toxicology, medical devices, biology and psychology. Enter your search term in the Database Query box.

EthnoMed

Cultural profiles, cross-cultural and refugee health resources, and patient education materials in over 10 languages, including Hmong, Spanish, and Vietnamese. From Harborview Medical Center at the University of Washington.

General OneFile

Off-campus users

Full-text database focused on current newsworthy topics, such as health care reform. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

Health and Wellness Resource Center

Off-campus users

A full-text database with a number of searchable modules, including diseases and conditions; alternative medicine; drugs and herbal remedies. Also includes full-text periodical search option. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

HealthAssist.net

Includes a nutrient identifier tool that tells you what can be found in various foods, and various food lists such as foods to help with sleep.

HerbMed Pro

Off-campus users

Database providing links to scientific, evidence-based data underlying the use of herbs for health. Published by the Alternative Medicine Foundation. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

IBIDS

Free database produced by the Office of Dietary Supplements at the National Institutes of Health, IBIDS contains citations and abstracts to scientific research literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals. IBIDS covers the years 1999-2010; more current citations can be found via PubMed, using the Dietary Supplements limit.

Images

More than 2.5 million images from medical and life sciences journals, searchable by keywords and other parameters. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), developers of PubMed. Images can easily be saved to a MyNCBI collection and shared with others.

Index to Chiropractic Literature

Index to major journals of the chiropractic literature, includes abstracts when available and links to free full text articles when available.

InfoTrac Newsstand

Off-campus users

Full-text database of more than 1,000 newspapers, including the New York Times. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

InteractionsGuide

Off-campus users

Provides clinically oriented, integrative information on both adverse and beneficial interactions between herbs and/or nutrients and drugs.

Lab Tests Online

Free website maintained by professional societies representing the lab community, providing up-to-date information about lab tests and what they are used for. Intended for patients and providers.

MDBG Chinese-English Dictionary

Free online dictionary features sound files, radicals, stroke order, and links to online flash cards. Accepts English, pinyin, and Chinese characters. Selected for the Best Free Reference Web Sites 2007 list by the American Library Association.

MEDLINE via PubMed

Off-campus users

The National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database currently containing over 10 million citations from more than 4,000 biomedical journals, including some alternative medicine journals.

view tutorial

Native American Ethnobotany

Free database of the University of Michigan–Dearborn that indexes books, articles, and other materials pertaining to food, drugs, dyes, and fibers derived from plants by native peoples.

Natural Medical Protocols

Natural medicine protocols for treatment of medical conditions. Includes references. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff using the above link; no login process necessary off campus.

Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database

Off-campus users

Provides information on herbal or non-herbal supplements, presented in 15 categories, such as Safety, Effectiveness, Possible Mechanism of Action and Active Ingredients, Adverse Reactions, Typical Dosage & Routes of Administration. Available via the World Wide Web for NCNM students, faculty and staff. The print version is available in our reference collection (call number QV 766 N285).

Natural Standard

Off-campus users

A collection of databases that provide evidence based information about complementary and alternative medicine treatments. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.

Nursing Resource Center

Off-campus users

A full text database covering a wide range of materials pertaining to nursing and allied health professions. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty and staff.

OCOM Journal Article Index

Database of bibliographic citations from journals on Oriental medicine. All the journals indexed in this database can be found in the OCOM library.

OSTMED.DR

Index to and repository for the literature of osteopathic medicine, an extension and update to the former OSTMED index.

PapersFirst

Off-campus users

Provides citations for over 580,000 individual, published papers from conferences, congresses, expositions, meetings, symposiums, and workshops worldwide. Coverage from October 1993-present.

PDQ Comprehensive Cancer Database

The National Cancer Institute’s summaries of the most recent cancer research, treatments, supportive care, clinical trials, etc. All summaries are peer reviewed. Includes a major category for complementary and alternative medicine treatments.

PEDro: Physiotherapy Evidence Database

Database developed to give rapid access to bibliographic details and abstracts of randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. Most trials on the database have been rated for quality to help you quickly discriminate between trials which are likely to be valid and interpretable and those which are not.

Plants Database

United States Department of Agriculture database that provides detailed profiles of herbs and other plants, including photographs, distribution maps, & other information. Searchable by either common name, scientific name, or symbol.

PMC

The National Library of Medicine’s full-text collection of 90+ life sciences journals. Access is free. Don’t confuse this database with Medline.

ProceedingsFirst

Off-campus users

Provides proceedings of conferences, congresses, expositions, meetings, symposiums, and workshops worldwide, including lists of papers presented. Coverage from October 1993-present.

PubMed (includes MEDLINE)

Off-campus users

The National Library of Medicine’s premier bibliographic database currently containing over 10 million citations from more than 4,000 biomedical journals, including some alternative medicine journals.

Quick Health Data Online

U.S. state- and county-level statistical data, covering demographics, mortality, natality, reproductive health, violence, prevention, disease and mental health. Data are available by gender, race and ethnicity and come from a variety of national and state sources. From the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Office on Women’s Health.

Scopus

Off-campus users

Citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature covering over 21,000 journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes “cited by” information for articles.

SUMSearch

Meta-search engine for retrieving systematic reviews and other information pertinent to clinicians following standards of evidence based medicine. Results are listed according to breadth of coverage (from broad for background reading to specific for original research review).

Trip Database

Meta-search engine dedicated to answering clinical, Evidence Based Medicine questions; includes filters for systematic reviews and other categories for refining results.

Tropical Plants Database

Sponsored by Raintree Nutrition, a company that practices sustainable harvesting of rain forest botanicals. The database contains taxonomy data on rain forest plants, phytochemical information, ethnobotanical data, uses in traditional medicine systems, and clinical research links.

UpToDate

Off-campus users

UpToDate is a clinical reference tool for physicians. It is an expert system comparable to FirstConsult.

WorldCat

Off-campus users

Combined catalog of over 10,000 libraries worldwide. Search for books, sound recordings, audiovisual materials, and other library materials. Available via the Web for NCNM students, faculty, and staff.